The Mystic Gryphon

Meditation and the Chakrahs

Prayer is said to be a way to talk with a higher power. Meditation, on the other hand, is a way to listen to what the higher power says. Meditation allows you to focus your thoughts, center yourself, attune yourself to the energy flows around you. In addition, it allows you to adjust your vibrational rate and even the vibrational rates of things around you.

Meditation techniques are all centered around relaxation and breathing techniques. During the class, students are guided through different meditation techniques in order to achieve the "alpha state". While in alpha state, second site is explored.

Since meditation is used to bring the body into vibrational alignment, it is at this point that the Chakrah system is introduced. We live in a sea of energy, our body constantly uses and creates energy. The Chakrahs, or energy tranfer points, are a system of flow valves which regulate the energy of the body. In the system there are 7 major chakrahs and 21 minor chakrahs. In this class, the seven major chakrahs are studied in detail.

Each chakrah is reponsible for regulating the energy of a certain system in the body and of certain types of energy. Since everything vibrates, the different energy centers appear in different colors since all color is just a state of vibration of energy. The different major chakrahs, the energy associated with each, the colors associated with each and the magickal and physical functions of the chakrahs are discussed.

The Chakrahs covered are

  • Root
  • Sacral
  • Solar Plexus
  • Heart
  • Thyroid
  • Third Eye
  • Crown

    During the course of this lesson, the students are taken through the grounding, chakrah opening and energizing ritual. In a guided enviornment, students are taught how to find their center, ground to the earth, open each chakrah and energize it, fill with the love of the Earth and the Light of the Universe. Once the students have experienced the opening, they are slowly guided through the thanking of the Universe and Earth, closing each chakrah, and removing the ground from the Earth and giving thanks again.

    The major arcana covered during this lesson is The Hierophant.

    Click here to return to the lessons page

    Click here to return to the main page